Aspects in astrology sextile

A typical source of confusion: “I am somewhat different from my sign”

The semisextile, sextile, and quincunx are considered minor aspects compared to the conjunction, trine, square, and opposition which are the major aspects — and represent the potential and opportunity of energetic development. A semisextile is a hard aspect and manifests as friction between the planets. This is because signs next to each other are very different from one another. However, this friction can also be experienced as the potential for growth. When two planets are two signs apart, they form a sextile. This harmony arises because planets sextile one another are necessarily in the same-polarity sign.

Polarity is the concept of yin and yang, two sides of a spectrum — the yin planets are earth or water signs and the yang planets are fire and air signs. Like semisextiles, sextiles are not super powerful aspects, but they will promote ease and flow between the planets. Planets are described as being square to one another when they are three signs apart. Squares produce tension — either in the form of stress or motivating action.

This is because signs that are square to one another have nothing in common except being of the same quadruplicity, or the quality of being a cardinal, fixed, and mutable sign. Cardinal signs initiate, fixed signs build, and the mutable signs adapt. Planets that are square to each other can manifest as conflict because they have different interests and objectives, but similar styles of achieving them thanks to being of the same quadruplicity.

Sextiles, Trines & Squares, Oh My! A Guide to the Planetary Aspects | Astrology Answers

For example, Aries is square Capricorn. One is a fire sign; the other is earth. They are both cardinal signs, meaning both like to take initiative. Conflict is inevitable, but a square can also force creative innovation. Trines are always in the same element of fire, earth, water, or air, and they are almost universally considered the best possible relationship between two planets. Trines are harmonious and fortunate. The only downside is they can manifest as a laziness born of not having to work very hard in the areas where the trine exists.

Planets are said to be quincunx or inconjunct to one another when they are five signs apart. Quincunx signs have nothing in common with each other — they are of different polarities yin and yang , elements fire, earth, air, and water and quadruplicities cardinal, fixed, mutable. A quincunx in the birth chart can feel like having multiple conflicting personalities.

Aspects and Orbs in Astrology – Lesson 9

If an astrology chart was a musical score, a quincunx would be the discordant minor-key note that builds toward the crescendo found in our next aspect, the opposition. Oppositions have a polarizing, mirroring or balancing effect, depending on the level of awareness achieved in those areas of life where the opposing planets exist. A polarizing opposition feels like two conflicting forces. Two people with opposing aspects may have the tendency to create an enemy of the other, based on the projection of their own subconscious issues onto the other person.

When the two forces get to know one another better and recognize their similarities or shared goal, they evolve into a mirroring opposition. This can manifest as you looking for the traits of an opposing planet in another person, rather than seeing or developing it in yourself. As the two forces cooperate and form a balancing opposition, they become integrated into a coherent, functional whole. Astrological aspects are all about the nature of relationships — between planets, asteroids, angles, or any other element that can be read in an astrology chart.

The progression of these astrological aspects can be read as the energetic evolution of relationships, from union to conflict to the integration of polarities. In the meantime make sure to check out our other introductory posts, including The Planets and Their Meanings and The Meanings of Asteroids in Astrology.

I'm Kiriko. I have a beauty blog kikibabemagic. From there I got into other mystical arts. Today I consider myself an eclectic nature witch, and I mostly practice astrology, tarot, glamour magic, and spellwork. I'm based in California and am currently exploring Bali, Indonesia. I'm a quintuple Sagittarius, and I love drawing, sci-fi, traveling, coffee, magic potions, and sunbathing.

  1. december 9 2019 birthday astrology libra;
  2. osho world tarot december 2019!
  3. Mercury in Cancer/Pisces.

The "minor" aspects are actually just as important as the "major" ones even though they may not appear to be be as interesting or exciting. The other mistake often made by astrologers is to lump the dual meanings of each aspect into one. There are TWO kinds of semi-sextile, inconjunct, or any other aspect except the conjunction and opposition.

Aspects derive their basic natures from the zodiac signs and ther relation to one another, and there are twelve such relations for every sign.

Conjunct: Unity

The conjunction, opposition, and square aspects are considered major or critical because of their basic configurations and cardinal natures and can be grouped together as the primary or cardinal aspects. Both the trine and sextile are considered as non-critical or secondary aspects because of their generally easy or free-flowing natures. This however, does not make them any less important than the first group. It would be like saying that the signs of Gemini and Aquarius representing the sextile and Leo and Sagttarius representing the trine are less important than Aries and Libra representing the conjunction and opposition respectively or Cancer and Capricorn representing the square.

In astrology no one sign is any more important than another and therefore neither should any of the aspects be either.

What Are Orbs?

We come finally to the "minor" aspects. Both the semi-sextile and the inconjunct are considered minor or lesser aspects because of their unrelatedness and generally negative natures, yet they are as important as the trine or sextile and can be grouped along with them as secondary aspects. This includes the semi-square, semi-quiquadrate, quintile, and all the other abominable inventions which only serve to clutter and confuse the art and science of astrology.

The emphasis on degrees rather than signs is what has led many astrologers astray on this matter.

Let's Talk About Hot Aspects In Synastry!

Sign relationship is first and foremost. Degrees serve to measure the intensity or immediacy of an aspect.